Thank You Tree

We’ve got quite a few really nice trees around the house. They are a mix of oak and maple and many stand way above the house! I love having so many mature trees in our yard. We found out that we needed to have one small tree removed close to the road in order to make way for the new electric pole.  It’s not a really nice tree so I wasn’t too sad.  We contacted a tree service recommended by one of Mike’s colleagues and we had them come and quote removing that tree. Because we needed them to come for the one tree, we also asked them to also trim branches that are overhanging the house and have them look at the large maple that wasn’t looking too good.  It was decided that the big tree also had to come down.  I was quite sad about loosing such a big tree but went along with the advice we were getting.

The crew of 3 arrived with climbing gear, chainsaws and a giant wood chipper. They gradually disassembled the tree from the top down, chipping all the branches and cutting the larger limbs into firewood lengths.

I love this picture, where you can see the log falling.  I took a lot of pictures to document the dismantling. In the end the tree was down and what remained was big pile of logs.  When they made the final cut and exposed the base of the tree stump, it was clear we’d done the right thing.  The inside of the stump was rotten and almost half hollow.  It would have been really bad if we completed our renovation and addition only to have a tree crash on the house. Thanks to the trees and branches we now have a great supply of maple and oak firewood to keep our new fireplace and my firepit going for a long time.  Thank you trees! Just a note to all my readers, if there is anyone who just LOVES to split wood.  Please come visit.  We’ve got lots to do!

This entry was posted in Home Renovation, remodeling, remodeling, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thank You Tree

  1. Kelly says:

    I loce this story. Might ne my favorite one yet. Reminds me if the book, The Giving Tree. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Kelly says:

    So, apparently I can’t type. Meant to say I LOVE this story and might BE my favorite one yet! And reminds me OF the book, The Giving Tree. Time to turn Auto Correct on again 🙂

  3. kitchenduet says:

    We will plant several this Spring….

  4. Lezlie Kay says:

    Wonderful documentation!!! Sorry for the loss of you big tree, but it was for the best.

  5. Pingback: Firewood and Lessons from the Woodpile | Lake House Adventures

Leave a comment